Since I’ve not been around for one month, just some updates!

First, this year I finally celebrated Fasika (Easter!) with my friends here. While having a nice outdoor day, my mind brought me back to one year ago, when in a small room in the Hague I was studying hard for my last university exam. Other times, other experience!

Well, nothing more to mention but the wonderful food Ethiopians eat after one and a half fasting month: injera with tibs, doro wet and fresh goat cheese gave me a further reason to be happy to be here and didn’t make me feel so far from my country! But of course this has a price. Walking in the streets of Addis Ababa the day after feels quite creepy: cows and goats’ heads, legs, bones and skins are easily findable on every street, as to wish a happy end of fasting. But with full stomach it’s impossible to feel guilty.

Huge Easter lunch

Huge Easter lunch

Coffee ceremony!

Coffee ceremony!

My own pet..before Easter

My own pet..before Easter

April days have been running out quite fast between normal working days, nights out and some nice breaks. Besides a wonderful 6 hours-hike on the Mogli Mountain (30 kms out of Addis Ababa), I’ve been to Debre Zeyit and its nice-looking Lake Bishoftu. While having lunch there with the guys, it has been impossible not to notice how many Ethiopians choose this place to shoot pictures to themselves while dressed up in an extremely fancy way.

DSC_0644

DSC_0687

DSC_0610

DSC_0648

DSC_0669

DSC_0680

DSC_0637

Proud of my place

Proud of my place

DSC_0638

DSC_0729 (2)

Ah, other cultural facts: in Ethiopia it’s followed the Orthodox Calendar (so we are in 2007 now!) but also different timings! Which means that the daily hours are counted from the moment the sun shines. Nice he? Hell NO.

Bishoftu

Bishoftu

DSC_0794

With the guys 🙂

Bishoftu Lake

Bishoftu Lake

But the top has been reached in the weddings I saw around the city. This is traditionally a propitious moment for people to marry, since after the fasting period the couples are supposed to be more wealthy to celebrate in a proper way, such as their guests. Every weekend, hundreds of cars parade along the main streets, honking and showing the passengers throwing baloons and seating out of the windows..as well as the spouses! And once the cars stop, they start to dance and sing all together on the street. And of course you “farenji” are WARMLY invited to join.

11225844_10205987915473537_897540471_n

I was invited to dance with them. And I was honored with a song including

I was invited to dance with them. And I was honored with a song including “mafia”, “shoot”, “gun”! Yeah I think I left a track.

Clubbing!

Clubbing!

African Union

African Union

Last update: some weeks ago I moved to another appartment, and not to contradict myself, it’s the third in a couple of months. Not really the fairy tale castle , but it allows me to be very central in the city and to save some money for other cool things to do here. The next one? Wait for that 😉

Walter

